[PATCH v2 6/9] arm64: perf: Do not call irq_work_run in NMI context

Julien Thierry julien.thierry at arm.com
Fri Mar 22 09:24:01 PDT 2019


Function irq_work_run is not NMI safe and should not be called from NMI
context.

When PMU interrupt is an NMI do not call irq_work_run. Instead rely on the
IRQ work IPI to run the irq_work queue once NMI/IRQ contexts have been
exited.

Signed-off-by: Julien Thierry <julien.thierry at arm.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon at arm.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland at arm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz at infradead.org>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo at redhat.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme at kernel.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin at linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa at redhat.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung at kernel.org>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas at arm.com>
---
 arch/arm64/kernel/perf_event.c | 3 ++-
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/perf_event.c b/arch/arm64/kernel/perf_event.c
index bae4242..316566d 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/perf_event.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/perf_event.c
@@ -776,7 +776,8 @@ static irqreturn_t armv8pmu_handle_irq(struct arm_pmu *cpu_pmu)
 	 * platforms that can have the PMU interrupts raised as an NMI, this
 	 * will not work.
 	 */
-	irq_work_run();
+	if (!in_nmi())
+		irq_work_run();
 
 	return IRQ_HANDLED;
 }
-- 
1.9.1




More information about the linux-arm-kernel mailing list